Shield your eyes! Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show is coming (and more Gwen and Blake)

Every year. Every GD year I dread the Victoria’s Secret fashion show and it’s big barrel curls and 14 inch rib cages. This year, the show should officially change it’s title to, “Taylor Swift’s Friends Walking” because that’s essentially all the show has become, just twenty of Taylor’s BFF’s giving #squad and #eatingdisorder goals for the masses.

Models, from left, Lily Aldrige, Karlie Kloss, Adriana Lima, Candice Swanepoel and Bahati Prinsloo walk the runway during the finale of the 2013 Victoria's Secret Fashion Show at the 69th Regiment Armory on Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2013, in New York. (Photo by Evan Agostini/Invision/AP)

Models, from left, Lily Aldrige, Karlie Kloss, Adriana Lima, Candice Swanepoel and Bahati Prinsloo walk the runway during the finale of the 2013 Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show at the 69th Regiment Armory on Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2013, in New York. (Photo by Evan Agostini/Invision/AP)

Ok, OKAY. It’s not the model’s fault if young girls and let’s be real, grown women, internalize these images and let them feed the already gnawing belief that this is type of beauty is what results in love, success and acceptance. Models are genetically thin. Models use their bodies, their naturally thin bodies to make money. That is all.

I just wish, someone, ANYONE who was or is a Victoria’s Secret model would take a moment and think, “Man, nothing is going to change if we keep televising lingerie fashion shows.”

Because really – NOTHING IS GOING TO CHANGE IF WE KEEP TELEVISING LINGERIE FASHION SHOWS.

I give props to these girls for trying to spin VS into a positive experience, about female empowerment and supporting one another, but what about supporting the rest of the women in the world? What about saying, “This is super fucked up, but I’m making serious bank and you should know that I know it’s damaging to you.”

I would respect you more, if that were the case.

giphy (8)

Victoria’s Secret released a video about the auditioning process being “super emotional.”

You know what’s emotional? Me, trying to pick an outfit on a daily basis or accidentally catching a glimpse of my ass before I get in the shower.

That’s emotional.

These girls KNOW this will take their careers to the next level. They also know they’ll probably end up dating Leonardo Di Caprio.

Warped. This whole thing is messed up.  Anyways. Over it. Not going to watch.

NEXT

So, Blake and Gwen are a thing, officially.

We’ve talked about this before but I still can’t wrap my head around this couple. I’m sure there are other people wondering what’s going on. The only thing I can think of is that the sex is really good. Isn’t that always the case?

rs_634x1024-151105132959-634.Blake-Shelton-Gwen-Stefani-Holding-Hands-Nashville-PDA-JR4-110515

If you can’t guess, this photo is from E!

I’m just hoping Blake can convince Gwen to eat a rack of ribs and put some meat on her bones.

Opposites attract, but this is like a Cat and a Dog having Pittens, or Kuppies.

Weird.

7 comments

  1. Good thoughts on the VS Fashion Show; while I’ve never watched it, I know that it sets unrealistic standards of beauty on young girls and women in society. I really don’t get the point of it- except maybe for people to sexually objectify the models’ bodies. Or ogle at how hot they are. Meh.

    Didn’t know that Gwen and Blake were a thing! Frankly, I never got the appeal of Blake; I never found him that attractive. But maybe because in my mind, he reminds me of a bear…

    Like

  2. “You know what’s emotional? Me, trying to pick an outfit on a daily basis or accidentally catching a glimpse of my ass before I get in the shower.”

    YES. To go even further – forgetting that my body doesn’t look like theirs and then catching a glimpse in a full length mirror or a recklessly tagged photo on Facebook. that’s emotional.
    Dressing rooms are emotional.

    I think I’m straying from the point. Anyway, I’m not watching either. And seeing that picture of Blake and Gwen – I think she did Miranda a favor. yikes. what happened to him?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg, girl. Tagged photos are the ABSOLUTE WORST. Literally any photo that isn’t a selfie – that didn’t come from a reversed screen, can go in the garbage.
      I have no clue. He’s dropped some pounds, but. No like it! I like Bears of men.
      ALSO. I had this thought the other day. 10 years ago it was Brad and Jen split. now it’s Blake and Miranda.
      who will be the major soul crushing break up in another 10 years??

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have never seen an actual Victoria’s secret show. But I love them wing! BEEYYOOUUTTIFFUULL.

    In the next life, I’d like to be a VS angel please!

    Anyway, I’m the same. Still not getting the Blake and Gwen thing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thats the thing. I’ll take the wings, I’ll take the bikinis and swimwear because, hey. i need the support while i swim, but what if there was a fashion show dedicated to oggling men in underpants the same way there is for women!?
      crazy.
      it’s ass backwards!
      also, thank you. i love you and your brain. xo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

