CMA Awards & the Ex-factor

Last night was the 49th Annual Country Music Awards hosted by Brad Paisley and the songstress with hair as gold as the sun, Carrie Underwood.

The show was an enjoyable three hours, with performances from the biggest names in country music – oh, and Justin Timberlake was there, too.

I was going to do a recap of the awards show, but I’ll leave that for the legit news sources. Let’s just talk about the giant divorced elephant in the room: Blake Shelton and Miranda Lambert.

I just have to compose myself. Okay. I think I can do this without crying.

Last night for the first time since their split, Blake and Miranda walked the same red carpet and took to the same stage performing their latest hits. Although Shelton and Lambert maintained that post split, they were determined to stay friends and keep things civil, Shelton threw a major curve ball into those plans. During the awards broadcast, it was confirmed by Gwen Stefani’s rep that she and Blake are indeed dating.

giphy (7)

First of all, Blake: What the actual f*ck. Opposites attract, sure but you are literally, ten minutes out of a marriage, and you decide to go public with your co-star, who ALSO just got out of a marriage a hot second ago?

Blake was his jovial, fun loving self the entire night, but Miranda looked visibly less confident than we’ve seen her in the past. After her win for Female Vocalist of the Year, Lambert told the crowd that she, “Needed a bright spot this year” before quickly saying some thank-yous and leaving the stage.

It was #awkward, and the divorce of country’s biggest couple was the hot topic of the night on social media. It was kind of like being at an event or party with all of your friends and you’re just awkwardly watching every move the recently single Prom King and Queen are making, and you’re not quite sure whether you should take sides but after a few drinks you follow your friend to the bathroom and have a cry about what happened and you’re just doing the drunk girl, “He’s a jerk!” over and over.

Miranda, he’s a jerk for going public with his new girlfriend the first time you two are going to see each other. That’s a dick move, right there. The good news is, you’re young, hot as shit, and going to make him regret it.

Ugh.

Anyways, what else can we talk about. I’m already over the Blake and Gwen story. Yeah, yeah, be happy, do you and all that jazz but come on. Did you HAVE to take up with someone both you and your ex knew? You couldn’t go find someone new who’s like, a hair stylist?

2BB1799700000578-3213156-A_bond_Blake_Shelton_who_ended_his_marriage_to_Miranda_Lambert_a-m-9_1440692229912

Dick.

I still love you, Blake. But, I’m going to have to go ovaries over bro-varies.

Fashion:

No surprise, Carrie Underwood was the best dressed of the night with her millions of wardrobe changes.

Eye Candy:

Eye candy was EVERYWHERE. Luke Bryan (swoon in them tight jeans) and Sam Hunt (we all know how I feel) were my top picks for Babes of the Ball.

Sam Hunt didn’t take home any awards, but I’m pretty sure he didn’t go home alone. Look at him. LOOK AT HIS FACE.

I’ll leave you with country stars reading mean tweets. It’s a pretty good giggle!

5 comments

  1. Okay, so first off…
    GWEN IS DATING HIM? OMG! But they are just too..uuuughhh. I don’t know. Not going to last very long.

    Was Miranda’s hair short or did she cut them after she broke up with Shelton? Why do we always have to get a drastic hair do at the end of our relationships?

    And I wanted to know, since you are Canadian and I will be too ( in another 500 years), how do you feel about Justin Trudeau?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT IS HAPPENING!
      you’re right, i think this is a case of “i’m single, you’re single – not looking for anything serious, let’s just be teenagers and makeout in cars”
      Miranda cut her hair about a year and a half ago when she lost all the weight.
      i actually read an article on Elite daily about girls cutting their hair. apparently it holds negative energy. but I agree. the Post-break up, post marriage chop is never a good idea. Let your hair cape fly!

      Girl, don’t get me started on Justin Trudeau. *swoons inappropriately*
      I’m glad there’s change, but i’m also glad there’s a figure with personality and presence. Me likey. Me likey a LOT

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can’t believe they are together! They make such an odd couple!

        Ooooh sorry. I didn’t mean to judge. She does look nice.

        Lol. I don’t know why people do that. I thought about it once. But then I was like nah. I don’t have the face for short hair, I really don’t.

        Hehe. My step dad sends me articles every day about him. Ofcourse, they are all about how brilliant he is but there are so many people who don’t like him because apparently he doesn’t qualify to be P.M? I don’t really know. He seems okay. And yes, cute, very cute!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. JUDGE AWAY! That’s what we do!
        Trudeau’s young, much younger than Harper was, but look how well that was going for Canada! (It wasn’t, it wasn’t at all).
        Im always tempted to chop off my hair when it’s not cooperating, but just don’t have the confidence. It’s a bold move!

        Like

Leave a Reply

