Friday Five – Thanksgiving, American Horror Story, Gigi Hadid and more!

Happy Friday!

It was a short work week here in Canada due to last weekend being Thanksgiving!

I hope you Canuck’s got a chance to eat some yummy food, be with your loved ones and watch the Blue Jays kick serious baseball ass! Woo! One step closer to the World Series!

I’m not a huge sports fan but I’m a huge fan of athletes…amirite ladies?

Here’s what I’m loving about this week…

Thanksgiving!

We’ve had some health issues in our family recently (luckily my Grandpa’s on the mend), so this Thanksgiving there was no concrete plan for holiday dinners. I was lucky enough to be invited to Marie’s parent’s house for dinner, who have always made me feel like I’m one of their own.

giphy

Marie’s Mom is an AMAZING cook. I always leave with a full belly and full heart, with her cooking reminding me of my Nani’s classic Italian recipes. Everything is full fat, butter and fried…it’s delicious!

American Horror Story: Hotel

Ok. So here’s where you’re going to think I’m a bit of a blasphemer. When I was a Religious Studies major in University without any spiritual ties, I decided to create my own personal Holy Trinity for shits and giggles. I’m half joking, half serious when I say, that my personal equivalent of the Holy Spirit is Lady Gaga – a colourful, ever changing, powerful life force …with fabulous wigs.

I’m now watching AHS: Hotel starring Gaga and although I’m not sold on this season, I am pleasantly surprised by Gaga’s acting chops. GIRL can sell being a vampire like it’s nobody’s business. Which…yes, is in direct opposition to the lightness that is everything heavenly, but still. It’s my theology and I’m sticking with my choice!

Are you watching American Horror Story?

It’s perfectly timed for Halloween. Check it out so we can chat!

Gigi Hadid in Elle Canada

I was in at the salon getting my roots colored, because I’m white already at 28, when I picked up the latest issue of Elle Canada with supermodel of the moment, Gigi Hadid, on the cover.

While my opinions on Ms. Hadid were that she was just a pretty face with rich parents and a  famous boyfriend. I must confess I was thoroughly impressed by her interview with the mag. Hadid is a PR superstar, knowing the value of building relationships with industry professionals and fans alike. It’s rare that you see a celebrity, a young celebrity at that, be a consummate professional.

If you’re looking for some brain and eye candy, check out the article here!

Carrie Underwood – Heartbeat

I’m always pushing Country music. Sorry, not sorry, y’all!

The second single from Underwood’s soon to be released album, Storyteller, features Sam Hunt’s vocals on the chorus.

Yup. That Sam Hunt. The one that makes my loins burst into flames like a head full of hairspray near an open flame.

The song is a typical country tune, about nights under the stars and slow dancing near a river, but it’s one you definitely need to check out!

Take a listen!


and finally…..

Angelina Jolie for Vogue

Remember that personal Holy Trinity I mentioned earlier? Here’s my walking, talking, raven haired, Jesus.

I adore Angelina Jolie for so many reasons besides her blessed bone structure. Jolie is open about her personal life, but not for the sake of entertainment. She shares her vulnerability to connect with others and uses her fame to bring attention to her humanitarian efforts. Hollywood’s most glamorous A-Lister is spends her time with the poorest of the poor, and she does it with grace.

Personally, I admire Jolie because she transitioned from this wild child to a humanitarian and mother. For me this has always been admirable because it reminds me that we are not our past, and we can become whatever or whoever it is we want to be!

Check out Angelina on the latest cover of Vogue, with photos featuring the entire Jolie-Pitt clan here!

8 comments

  1. Although I’m American, and the U.S.’s Thanksgiving isn’t for another month, I wish you a Happy Thanksgiving! Thanks for introducing me to Gigi Hadid; looks like I’ve found my newest celebrity crush! 😉

    Like

    1. Isn’t she a beaut?! Her sister is a model as well, Bella Hadid. Those genes are amazing – Dutch and Middle Eastern!
      Will you do anything to celebrate Thanksgiving in France? Are there Americans there you can hang with???
      Thank you for the holiday wishes!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, there are Americans to hang out with on Thanksgiving, but not sure if I will end up celebrating. It’s not a big deal in my household back in the States (although we do have a nice dinner), so the most that I would do in France is to go, drink, and make merry. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Thanksgiving! One of my favorite holidays cause I love food so much. I have been watching American Horror Story this season but I’m not really feeling it. It’s a little too over the top with no real substance. But I do agree with you, Lady Gaga is good in her role.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. the works!
      turkey, stuffing, potatoes of all kinds. gravy, gravy, gravy!
      I’m not a yam fan, but they’re usually on the table!
      the ONLY thing I like about having Canadian thanksgiving in October is that there’s a breather before Xmas. I don’t know how y’all do it, one right after the other!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree! So much food. That’s why they say it’s so hard to stay in shape over that monthlong period! Good to know that Canadians eat the same Thanksgiving foods! Now my mouth is watering just thinking about it! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

