Friday Five: Welcome to Fall!

I think this might be the first time (in a long time) that I’m actually excited for the holidays. Not Christmas, you freaks. Thanksgiving and Halloween!
It’s too soon to be thinking about Halloween. It shows incredible disrespect for Autumn and all it has to offer. There’s such a small window of time where the leaves are red and yellow and beautiful before they fall to the ground. Savor it! Give it it’s moment! On December 1st you are more than welcome to throw up your Christmas tree and tinsel n’ shit, but until then SHOW SOME RESPECT.
tumblr_nu7pgrV3yg1ufu1o5o1_500
I’m excited for Halloween this year because my nieces are a little bit older and at the age where costumes are EVERYTHING. Kudos to my sisters for not telling the girls what they’re being for Halloween until closer to the 31st. Your valiant attempt to maintain calm in the household is admirable.
This year I don’t have any Halloween party plans, so I won’t be dressing up. However, my cousin and I have signed up for a ghost tour on Halloween night. We’re morbid that way. We also love cemeteries, empaths, mediums, postmortem photography and child ghosts.
It’s going to be amazing.
Here are five things to get you feelin’ festive and ready for fall!

1.  Bath and Body Works Candles

I can’t bake to save my life, and I don’t like pumpkin spice lattes. To get my fix of fall, I like to buy scented candles from Bath and Body works.
Apple Pumpkin Pancake!
Sweater Weather!
Salted Caramel!
Yummy. And no baking required.
pBBW1-21654960v275

Pumpkin Pie! $22.50 for 3 wick candle, or 2 for $24

Click here to check out more scents!

2. Post Mortem Photography

I touched on this earlier, this is something my cousin and I both find eerily fascinating. During the Victorian-era it was common for photographers to take portraits of the dead and give to grieving families as keepsakes. Creepy, right?
If you’re brave enough to take a look at some post-mortem portraits, click here.

3. Ghost Stories!

I love a good podcast. I also like to be scared shitless by ghost stories. A Ghost Story podcast? Perfect.
If you’re looking to freak yourself out and hear true tales of hauntings, go to Podbay.fm to listen to Real Ghost Stories Online, a podcast dedicated to true spooky stories.

4. Hocus Pocus!

Tell that virgin to light the black flame candle! It’s officially Hocus Pocus viewing season.  I’m slightly obsessed with this movie, and watch it every year before Halloween. Every. Single. Year.
giphy
Oh, the Nostalgia!
Every year there’s rumors of a Hocus Pocus remake or sequel, but I personally hope this never happens. You don’t mess with perfection.

5. Something for the poets…

Have you ever been rendered speechless by the beautiful fall foliage?
These people haven’t. Here are some gems from famous writers about our favourite time of year.

“Autumn is a second spring, when every leaf is a flower.”

– Albert Camus

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”

– Lucy Maude Montgomery

tumblr_nbqscfPK5f1tkrimoo10_500

“No spring nor summer beauty hath such grace as I have seen in one autumnal face.”

– John Donne

“Autumn…the year’s last, loveliest smile.”

– William Cullen Bryant

Go and enjoy the loveliness before the snow falls!
See you on Monday 🙂
xoxo
8 comments

  1. Autumn (or fall, as it’s commonly called in the States) has to be one of the most beautiful times during the year. Anything pumpkin spiced smells incredible- so warm and homey! And you can’t forget John Keats’ s poem “To Autumn;” one of my favorites! 🙂

    Like

  2. Part of me wants nothing more than to have a Hocus Pocus sequel. I mean, it would give Omri Katz and Thora Birch something to do. But the other part of me gives the idea a big NO. HoPo is amazingly 90’s and I don’t think my little heart could deal with Winifred Sanderson (somehow) sending out Snapchats and using an iPhone.

    I love those quotes that you picked. Personally, every Fall I wait for Tom Hanks to present me with a bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils, a la “You’ve Got Mail”. A girl can dream.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

