I hope the 2015 MTV Video Music Awards was a wake-up call for America

Only four more days until one of my best friends in the entire universe ties the knot!

I can’t wait.

For all y’all who are thinking, “Gee, she sure has a lot of best friends.” I’ll point to this picture of Taylor Swift at the VMA’s and I urge you to recant yourself.

LOS ANGELES, CA - AUGUST 30:  (L-R) Models Gigi Hadid, Martha Hunt, actress Hailee Steinfeld, model Cara Delevingne, actress Selena Gomez, musician Taylor Swift, model Serayah, actress Mariska Hargitay, models Lily Aldridge and Karlie Kloss attend the 2015 MTV Video Music Awards at Microsoft Theater on August 30, 2015 in Los Angeles, California.  (Photo by Jason Merritt/Getty Images)

LOS ANGELES, CA – AUGUST 30: (L-R) Models Gigi Hadid, Martha Hunt, actress Hailee Steinfeld, model Cara Delevingne, actress Selena Gomez, musician Taylor Swift, model Serayah, actress Mariska Hargitay, models Lily Aldridge and Karlie Kloss attend the 2015 MTV Video Music Awards at Microsoft Theater on August 30, 2015 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Jason Merritt/Getty Images)

My speech is written, I’ve got Thursday and Friday off to help with wedding prep and then the big day will be upon us.

friendships_zpscf18f4be

If you’re at all interested in the DIY wedding of the year, follow the hashtag #WeddinBellsBeRingin for pictures!

So, ok. This post will be a jumble but let’s get down to it.

The VMA’s. There was a time when I cared about the MTV Video Music Awards. A simpler time. A time long, long ago when a celebrity flashing boob or having a nervous breakdown was exciting, like being at the zoo. Those were the good old days. When Britney performed with snakes, made out with Madonna and stumbled along to the choreography for her “comeback.” I’m aging myself. But tough tits. I miss those days.

tumblr_mri47wlBsI1st3sv4o1_500

I didn’t watch this year’s “awards show” because as I’ve said in previous posts, I’ve got better shit to do. I did however, watch  the music video premiere of Taylor Swift’s latest single, Wildest Dreams, which in my humble opinion, is the best song on the album!

The video did not disappoint. Ok,maybe her wig did a LITTLE bit, but anything with Scott Eastwood is A-OK in my books.

Did you watch? Did you swoon? Did you immediately wish they recreated the scene in Out of Africa where Robert Redford washes Meryl Streep’s hair? Does anyone have any clue what I’m talking about or who Robert Redford is?

#Youths.

Apparently, Kanye went on a tear and announced he was running for President in 2020. This, I hope, was a call to action for the American people, to completely ignore Kanye once and for all instead of solidifying yourselves as the laughing stock of the world.

ColbertAmerica

I mean, you’re already close with your gun control laws, Donald Trump running for President and your healthcare system, but this would be TOO far (what should have been too far is everything I’ve just mentioned, but whatever you don’t seem to care).

After last week’s tragedy that resulted in the murders of two Virginian newscasters while live on air, I’m feeling disappointed with your country. I feel as though I’m constantly defending the United States like an abusive boyfriend, but it’s getting so bad that even I can’t use Sonic, Ulta or your delightful patriotism to defend your honour.

Shaking my head. Shaking my head, hard.

Get it together.

Taylor Swift and her squad aren’t the Sailor Scouts, they’re not here to save you. I know you’re probably confused because they’re all super tall and pretty and strike weird poses, but their job is to entertain you to distract you from what’s really going on in your world. Sure, Sailor Moon or the Avengers are probably the only people that could save you right now, but I believe in you!

4a950950-cf29-0132-45d2-0ebc4eccb42f

If unnecessary, senseless and preventable deaths won’t shake the consciousness of your country, use the prospect of Kanye West as your President as the wake up call you desperately need.

9 comments

  1. Hah, yes! I didn’t watch the VMAs, but I did watch Swift’s “Wildest Dreams” music video. Not my favorite song on her album, but you can’t deny that Scott Eastwood is so dreamy ~swoons.

    As an American, I can say that I’m not proud of how the country has handled all of these tragedies over this summer. With the exception of legalizing gay marriage, news has been nothing but shooting after shooting, race issues, and Donald Trump. Seriously, you don’t have to defend the U.S., my dear Canadian.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What was your fave of the album? Do tell!!

      I was just so upset when I heard what happened last week and I feel like it just got swept under the rug in favour of nicki Minaj feuds and Kanye.
      Priorities.
      My grandparents are from the U.S. On both sides and I have a lot of American family , I feel like I gotta rep for y’all up here!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really liked “How You Get the Girl;” that was my favorite on the album. The other songs were good, though, and I do consider “1989” to be one of her better albums (didn’t enjoy “Red” as much).

        Oh, it’s interesting that your grandparents are from the U.S.! You still don’t need to sympathize with us, though; it’s totally fine! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

