Welcome to 28

It’s here.

Today, August 18th 2015, is my 28th birthday.

I usually have major birthday anxiety. I put so much pressure on myself that every time a birthday rolls around, I would look at my life and feel unsatisfied. I’m usually a little weepy. A little panicky. A little drunk. But this year feels different.

tumblr_my03t8j2O51rl35vno1_500

Keep it classy. Or Maggie Smith sassy

I feel like I’m finally giving myself a chance to be a work in progress.  After hitting an unusually low point during the late Spring, I knew I had to make some major changes in my life, and take some time to work on myself.

A little vague? Maybe.

Not everything is sunshine, roses and inappropriateness in my life. My resolve to become a happier, healthier person, meant having to say goodbye to someone I love dearly. The reality is, it’s impossible to be a good partner in a relationship if you’re not taking care of yourself. That’s something I learned the hard way.

So here I am. 28 years old. Just “doin’ me” for the first time in a very long time.

My life is blessed. Not #blessed, but blessed in the truest sense of the word. I have my health, I have my family and I have the best friends in the entire world.

I swear I’m not high or drunk. I don’t usually talk this openly about my feelings (unless snark is a feeling?) I’m just incredibly humbled and grateful for the love and support that’s been shown to me not only these past few months but for my entire 28 years of existence.

I feel like I can handle this life/aging/growing-up thing. We can handle it together!

Birthday

Me, being a sweaty betty at my 28th birthday.

15 comments

  1. Happy birthday! Your post is definitely different from your previous ones, as it’s more pensive and sober (pun intended). 😛 Kind of offers a step back to reflect on another milestone in your life; it’s wonderful.

    And yes, Maggie Smith, yes!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SOBER! hahaha that made me laugh.
      Thank you for the birthday wishes. I really appreciate it.
      Self-reflection is definitely important and something I do often, but for whatever reason have a really hard time being open about. Hopefully that changes this year. Vulnerability = connection!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy BIRTHDAY PRETTY!!! We adore you and your blog! Here are to the next 28!!!

    And to keep the celebration going…We’re having a blog party this weekend and would LOVE for you to stop by and share your blog with our readers! (And if you want to “bring” any of your friends or readers, we’d LOVE to see them, too! The more the merrier!) The link won’t be live until Friday–but here’s your “invite” to the party:
    http://liveclarelesleyblog.com/2015/08/21/blog-party-aug-21-23/
    BIG HUGS,
    LCL

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Happy Birthday! Hope it is AWESOME! And I totally support you in taking care of yourself first. “Love yourself first” ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

