Friday Five – Blog love, chest tats and more!

Another week has come and gone!

For almost the entire month of August I’ve been living like a gypsy, housesitting/pet-sitting for friends and family. Even though I love to go out and be surrounded by friends, I need my alone time. I’ve had a chance to catch up on some of my summer reading,  watched even MORE Netflix than usual, and I’ve managed to get some colour on my sickly, alabaster, translucent skin.

I’m looking forward to the weekend because I’ll be celebrating my 28th birthday (which is actually next Tuesday) with my closest friends!

I don’t want cake, no presents, no hoopla or attention, I just want all of my favourite people in one room, completely tanked. That would be the best present of all!

Before I can get started on my weekend celebrations, let me share with you 5 things I’m loving this week!

Lola Evie Love

My best friend, Marie, just launched a blog to document her growing family. I may be biased because it features my nieces, but Lola Evie Love is perfection. When talking to Marie about her plans for the blog, she told me how excited she was to have a creative outlet that focuses on family.

untitled

Photo by Nathan Nash Source Lola Evie Love

I may not have kids, but one of my guilty pleasures is mommy-blogs. I can’t get enough. Marie and I always talk about our favourite sites and bloggers and really admire when people are honest and open about how hard it is to be a parent sometimes. Babies cry, there are temper tantrums and sleepless nights, but at the end of the day family really is the most important thing in the world.

I consider Marie, Nathan and their daughters to be my family! I’m so unbelievably proud and excited for Lola Evie Love!

Visit them at www.lolaevielove.com

 Jessie James Decker – Lights Down Low

I’ve been coming at you hard with country music. #SorryNotSorry

One of my favourite people/artists/women just dropped a new single and it’s EVERYTHING. Jessie is married to uber babe and NFL player Eric Decker, which is the ultimate in relationship goals. Having followed their careers for a loooong time now I can safely say this new single is 100% Jessie, 100% addictive, 100% fantastic.

jessie-james-deckler-lights-down-low-2015

And if you’re not into country music then just creep her Instagram and have serious hair envy.

Click here to listen on Spotify

Ed Sheeran’s Lion Tattoo

I’ll never apologize for my out of control lust for Ed Sheeran and I this new chest piece is working for me.

Mama likes.

ed-sheeran-lion-tattoo

Source

Sheeran says his new ink is to commemorate his sold out gigs at Wembley Stadium. Some are not digging the tat but I’m pretty sure I would spray him like a cat in heat so… that’s just how I feel about that.

This tattoo is taking my already uncomfortable feelings for Aslan to new and creepy levels.

The End of the Tour / Although of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself

I’m relatively new to the Church of David Foster Wallace. I came across This Is Water a few years ago when I was in a bit of a rut and became strangely intrigued by his work and his life. I’ve been reading his short stories, have read the Pale King, but in my own twisted sense of logic, am not ready to conquer his most popular novel, Infinite Jest.

ca. 1996 --- David Foster Wallace --- Image by © Gary Hannabarger/Corbis

ca. 1996 — David Foster Wallace — Image by © Gary Hannabarger/Corbis

I’m hyping myself up for it by reading his contemporaries (Franzen) and his inspirations (DeLillo) and trying to connect with whatever it is that made him “David Foster Wallace” a man who openly struggled with depression until he sadly committed suicide in 2008.

Is this too dark for a Friday?

Anyways. I’ve just finished Although of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself by David Lipsky, who in 1996 joined DFW on the last leg of his book tour to promote Infinite Jest to interview Wallace for RollingStone.

The article was never published, but in 2010 Lipsky released the transcript of his tapes and now his book is a movie starring Jason Segel.


The book is insightful and moving. It simultaneously humanizes David Wallace and reveres him. One minute they’ll be talking about True Romance and the next they’re diving deep into the pitfalls and illusions of fame. David Wallace is a normal guy, David Foster Wallace is some kind of demi-god for hipster culture.

I encourage everyone to pick up a copy! I’ll be continuing my quest into…I guess…feeling less alone about my own issues and feelings through another person. Sounds heavy. It is. But it’s wonderful.

That’s TECHNICALLY five things!

Tell me what you’re been loving/reading/watching this week!

2 comments

  1. Damn, that’s one hell of a tattoo! Not sure if the chest was the best area to put it on (I was thinking the back would’ve been better, that is, if ES hadn’t already tatted that spot yet). That’s my personal opinion, though.

    And happy *early* birthday to you! Hope you have a great time. Let us know how it goes! Have a good weekend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

