The Friday Five: The 5 Songs to Stay Away From When You’re Sad

I know, I know. It’s the Friday before a long weekend and here I am brining you down. Or…maybe I’m just asking you to move over and joining you in life below emotional sea-level.

I’ve had a shitty week. My dog’s been in the hospital and my heart’s been through a blender. I’ve been lucky that my friends have rallied around me to help me occupy my time, but when left alone… I turn to sad songs.

Today I messaged my best friends and told them that I was either hitting a new emotional threshold or getting my period because an acoustic version of Katy Perry’s Firework made me cry.

My one friend said I was just like a plastic bag, drifting through the wind.

tumblr_nbx2o0nMHe1rbc9h1o1_500

My other bestie said that anything acoustic has no place when dealing with a broken heart.

They’re right. But I’m a rebel and a glutton for punishment. That’s why I’m sharing with you the 5 songs you should stay away from when you’re sad…

5. The One that Got Away – Katy Perry (acoustic version)

This one gets me every time. Just clutch your pillow and cry. Everyone’s had that moment where they break up with someone and wonder if they’ve just made the biggest mistake of their lives. This song sucker punches me right in my pop-tastic gut.

4. This Year’s Love – David Grey

This one speaks for itself. Add a piano to feelings and you’ve got an emotional breakdown.


3. I Can’t Make You Love Me – Bonnie Raitt

Ok. Shits getting real when I don’t even pick a song from the last 20 years for this list. You know that anyone who covers this song has been through some shit (Bon Iver, Adele). Whichever version you listen to, just make sure you’re not near anything sharp.

2. Someone Like You – Adele

Modern classic. There used to be a time (about two years ago) when you would be stuck at a stoplight, look over, and see  a girl sobbing, mascara down her face and you just KNEW she was listening to Adele on the radio.

1. I Will Always Love You – Dolly Parton/Whitney Houston

The ultimate.

Dolly is forever number one in my heart, but Whitney Houston (RIP) took this song to the next level for The Bodyguard.

Many, many people have covered this tune. So if you’re feeling brave enough, check out Chris Cornell’s version, but this rendition by Josh Weathers is amaze-balls.

You and me, we’re gonna be OK!

6 comments

  1. I think sometimes it’s actually good to listen to sad songs and really just let your emotion out. When I broke up with my ex I watched The Notebook (and we all know what torture that is), but after having a good cry I often felt better – its like a release.

    Another sad song I’ve discovered lately – youth by daughter. Not only is it just a beautiful song, but it talks about how everyone is broken from heart break except for the lucky youthful. Deep.

    Hang in there!

    Jes x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know if I texted you this, but when I found that breakup pandora station I was listening to it…and I totally geared up for a few songs even though I am in a wonderful relationship lol
    Sad songs just make you sad. No matter how you feel in real life. That’s the purpose of music. To take you on a journey.
    I love you girl! Please text me more when you feel like listening to sad songs!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When I’m sad I don’t just listen to Adele, I pretend I AM Adele. Usually in a music video where I’m staring out a window on a rainy day. In black and white, of course.

    Sending you and your (adorable) pup tons of positive vibes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

