Cheers to a wild Friday night! 

I wish I had the time to post a Friday Five because this week has been a busy one for me and the pop culture world, but I’m feeling a tad under the weather. 

For the past two weeks I’ve been dealing with gnarly chest pains and a super sexy cough. I thought it might be asthma (Hamilton is super smoggy) or pneumonia (because I’m a drama queen) so I finally went to the doctors today. 

Turns out, it’s an inflamed trachea/chest infection but my doc sent me to the hospital for some X-Rays and tests. There’s nothing fun about sitting alone in the hospital in a mask and gown. Loose boob and exposed bum ain’t cute!
I did however, have a funny interaction with a nurse, who prior to taking some blood samples asked me “if I was still fasting.” I was really confused until I remembered that today’s the last day of Ramadan, and that Muslims everywhere get to break fast.  

How I think I look

 I let out a really weird, wheezy giggle and then replied simply with a no. This happens all the time, a result of being ethnically ambiguous. I’ve had several situations like this where people have asked if the Canadian government paid for my tuition because of my Native status, if I could dance because I’m Hispanic or tell me that I’m “Pretty for an Iranian.” 

 

How I really look

 
 I’ve learned to laugh at it, and marvel at people’s inquisitiveness …that’s a nice way to put it. 

Now I’m at home, in bed with some books and my pup getting some much needed rest. 

Hope to be back in the blogging game on Monday! 

Enjoy your weekend! 

8 comments

  1. Yeah, I don’t blame the nurse. I can’t say you look like me (because I’m so ducking pale) but I can see why she asked you that.

    It’s probably your eyes, big and beautiful.

    Anyway, the point is..you’re a beautiful! Way prettier than Jasmine!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

