Friday Five: Channing Tatum, Kim Kardashian and more!

I get really excited for Fridays. It’s my new Christmas Eve because I’ve got the same childlike anxiousness and I’m annoyingly happy, but there’s no family dysfunction and crying alone in the bathroom. This week I was blessed with a stat holiday to celebrate Canada day, so I feel spoiled that tomorrow’s already another day off!

Spoiled…but not as spoiled as America. Seriously, you guys have it so great.* A three day weekend with all the pomp and circumstance once could ask for? AND HOTDOGS? Amazing.

This week’s Friday Five is pop culture driven (as is my life) so let me share with you what I’m loving this week…

1. Channing Tatum

I’m not someone who’s usually influenced by dreams. Every once and a while I’ll have a really weird dream and wake up really confused, but I don’t put much stock into them. HOWEVER, I am easily influenced by dreams when they’re about people, case in point: Channing Tatum.

117775-Channing-Tatum-hot-magic-mike-nwYJ

He’s shirtless, holding a cat and eating pizza… the holy trinity of hotness in my books.

Prior to July 1st I was not a Channing Tatum fan. I got the appeal, but I just wasn’t registering any attraction below my belly button. Then Tuesday night I have a dream that Channing and I are grocery shopping (so many of my dream dates take place in the grocery store, probably because I go to bed hungry) and then BAM! I wake up wanting to binge watch all of his movies. I’m not at all ashamed to say I watched The Vow on Canada Day…twice.

This weekend Magic Mike XL opens in theatres. Would it be weird if I went alone, so long as I kept my hands visible at all times?

2. Kim Kardashian on the cover of Rolling Stone

The beauty of Kim Kardashian is that she fails to take every opportunity to present herself as a feminist icon. She’s an exhibitionist, unapologetic about her body or her decisions to flaunt her assets, but when it comes to actually SAYING something relative to feminist issues or frankly, ANY issue, she’s a swing and a miss.

Kim says in the new issue of Rolling Stone :

“I’ve never really been one on labels, and I don’t like to push my view,” Kardashian says. “If I feel something, it’s how I feel. I never say, ‘I feel this way, so you should feel that way.’ Not that there’s anything wrong with it, but I just am who I am. But, yeah.” She smiles. “I think you would call me a feminist.”

Kimmy.

Help me, help you. Help me get people to like you. Help me, get people to take you seriously. Help me get people to stop looking at your boobs and bum.

I love this about Kim Kardashian (which is why she’s on my Friday Five list). For all the media training and the interview prep and the glitz and glam, she’s just kind of… out to lunch. Out to lunch with perfect make-up and hair.

3. Friday Night Lights

I totally missed the opportunity to jump on the FNL bandwagon back in 2006. I avoided teen television at all costs back then. I was never an OC girl, but I did dabble in a little One Tree Hill for a while.

Thanks to Netflix and the fact that I have absolutely way too much time on my hands, I have the chance to fall in love with Tim Riggins and essentially pretend to redo my early twenties! WOO!

I’m only on episode 9 of the first season but I’ve already got it bad for the broody delinquent Riggins. That hair, amirite?

Hot-Tim-Riggins-Pictures

4. Amy Schumer

This Buzzfeed list of the 20 Times Amy Schumer Completely Understood You is perfection. I love her brash, unfiltered style.

tumblr_np3gt6UAGx1usqxw0o1_500

5. Happy Birthday, Tom Cruise

Last year I went on a Twitter campaign to become Tom Cruise’s new wife. By campaign,  I mean I tweeted him daily and had zero response. I guess he didn’t like how openly I was willing to sacrifice my personal freedom and ideologies for a chance to walk red carpets and wear nice clothes. Given his track record one would think that would be exactly the type of thing he would be looking for in a woman, but oh well.

I still love Tom, despite his ass-backwards beliefs. Maybe I think we could work  because I zone out whenever someone talks about space Whatever. Nobody said celebrities had to be smart, right?

tom-cruise-sunglasses

Happy 53rd birthday, Tom. You sold your soul to a space devil and remain perpetually young and in my heart forever!

*Aside from health insurance, gun control laws, reproductive rights, the rest of the world thinking poorly of you (not me though), tuition costs, poverty and unemployment rates, national debt… ugh. should I continue?

3 comments

  1. Happy Friday to you, too! Ah yes, Channing Tatum is absolute perfection; we go waaay back. 😉 And all of that stuff about Kim Kardashian being a feminist is pure bullshit; I mean, look, the RS cover says it all! *smh

    And thanks for the 4th of July well wishes, my fellow Canadian! Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just WISH Kim owned it or had something to say, instead of just getting our attention and doing nothing with it!
      I hope you do something awesome to celebrate!! YOU ESS EHH, YOU ESSS EHH!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never been a very huge fan of Channing…except for The Vow. That movie is super amazing. And it’s like sad but it’s soon good.
    Also Amy Schumer is HILARIOUS.

    Like

Leave a Reply

