Did you just weight shame me?

The scene:

Lunch. A busy diner with corporate types looking for cheap eats.

Me and two male co-workers are discussing the fact that I can’t cook. Not that I can’t cook, just that I don’t want to cook, which really affects nobody but apparently is the #1 contributor to my inevitable cat lady status. That and my cat.

Larry:Β  You should cook, nobody will marry you if you don’t cook for a man

Me:Dafuq

Larry: What do you weigh? A buck twenty?

Me: Nooooooo

Larry: Fine, A buck fifteen?

Me: I weigh 130

Larry: Wow, I didn’t think you weighed so much.

Me:

tumblr_lo8xmb5jrg1qmd78do1_500

Was I just weight shamed?

Has this happened to you?

Brb. Going to eat my feelings.

12 comments

  1. WOW, his ridiculously inappropriate comments just reveal how ignorant he is. I hate cooking, so my boyfriend and I take turns doing it. Not to mention I weigh significantly more! He doesn’t mind at all; there’s more to a woman than her weight and ability to put some chicken in the oven. I’m sorry that you even had to be part of this conversation!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It was a shitty part of my day for sure. I feel like as soon as I reach a place where I’m comfortable in my body or show any kind of confidence, BAM that’s when someone says something stupid.
      “there’s more to a woman than her weight and ability to put some chicken in the oven. ”
      Let’s make that a bumper sticker!

      Like

  2. goodness gracious. where I come from, (most) men know better than to pose such a ride question! and all women know the only answer they’ll ever give is to say “bless your heart” and change the subject!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s how much I weigh, so yay weight-buddies. Also, does this man realize that due to your height and age, that weight is probably the ideal weight?

    Hes such a dum dum. Next time be like at least I can get skinner, too bad your d* can’t bigger. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahah basically πŸ’πŸ½

        😳 ahaha thanks πŸ˜™ you should see me in action πŸ˜‰

        But srsly thou, I have very little tolerance for ppl commenting on body image and body health, like, are you a doctor? Did you study about the body? Have you studied my body and my genetic history? No? Then shut your face. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

