Welcome to Me (and other movie talk)

Happy Monday!

I’ve been waiting all weekend to tell you about the movie Welcome to Me, starring Kristen Wiig and James Marsden. The quirky film about a bipolar/borderline woman who goes off her meds, wins $86 million, and decides to have her own “Oprah-like” talk-show one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long time. Not since the movie Young Adult have I thought a film has accurately captured the mood of our social media/fame/self-obsessed generation (said as I type a post for my blog that serves no purpose but to entertain my friends and hopefully exercise my own neurotic energy).

54dcc93873b710d476cfb70a_welcome-to-me-poster

Kristen Wiig is a comedic genius (no shit, Libby) but with films like The Skeleton Twins and now Welcome to Me, Wiig’s really proving that her talents extend far beyond her SNL sketch comedy roots.

Spoiler alert: Wiig’s character is on a steady decline towards a psychotic break with her vulnerability and illness causing some cringe-worthy and sometimes familiar moments for anyone who’s lived with or knows someone with mental illness. Welcome to Me raises the ethical question of whether or not television, particularly reality television (which I love, obvi) exploits it’s subjects in the name of entertainment and whether there’s a moral obligation for networks, and audiences for that matter, to recognize when TV shows go too far (Bachelor crazies, Real Housewives arrests/rehabs, I’m talking to y’all).

I could go on and on about this movie, and I think somewhere here there’s a great thesis topic here, but I’ll digress because it’s too early and well, Monday.

In other movie talk!

I finally saw the movie Interstellar. By now everyone and their mother has probably seen this movie, but I’m late to the game (as always).
Anyone who knows me knows there are three things I despise learning about/paying attention to
1. Volcanoes
2. Dinosaurs
3. Space
If I hear any buzz words associated with any of these topics like, “lava” “Jurassic Park” or “Galaxy” my brain just shuts off.
This was a real detriment to me in school, because I would go into a catatonic state whenever we had to learn about these subjects.
The only reason I know all the planets in our solar system is because of Sailor Moon, and that’s the god’s honest truth.
Sailor_moon
I watched Interstellar on the plane ride home from London and I actually enjoyed it! It’s typical Nolan and sort of trippy and beyond belief, but thumbs up to anyone who can convince me that Matthew McConaughey could be an astronaut!
5320725101faa2a452f15dfe_alright-alright-alright1
 What movies are you loving? Give me your recommendations!
6 comments

  1. Just saw Pitch Perfect 2, if you loved the first one, you will love it, and there’s so much more Rebel Wilson, so that just makes it so much better. And weird international teams, it’s great.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ve been interested in watching “Welcome to Me,” but that’ll have to wait until school gets out! On my bucket-list is Pitch Perfect 2 and the Minions movie (coming out later). 🙂

    Like

  3. Don’t worry about being late to the game, I JUST watched Furious 7 last night! Pitch Perfect 2 was also pretty good, definitely agree with Juanita, the international teams def. add a little more to it. While the movie was still funny, I felt like a lot of the jokes were recycled and overdone. I also wish I had seen a little bit more of Jesse and Becca’s relationship but oh well ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ !

    Next on my list is this one and Hot Pursuit. I’ve also been putting off Avengers but idk I’m just not that excited to watch it. :/

    Like

    1. YES to Hot Pursuit. I need to see that comedy duo!
      I know what you’re saying about Avengers. My friends who have seen it say it’s pretty formulaic to the Marvel films, but still. Chris Evans. Chris Hemsworth. There’s a serious lack of Tom Hiddleston but 2/3 ain’t bad!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

