Voice envy: Ella Henderson edition

I haven’t written in forever. If you care, I’m sorry. If you don’t care, well tough tits, cuz I’m still sorry.

I started writing this piece last Friday as part of a Friday Five, but then life blah blah blah work, blah blah commitments blah blah naps got in the way.

Anywho, let’s talk music!

In the fifth grade, my teacher was the choir coach. Choir leader? Choir conductor? Choir man? Whatever. He was the head of the choir and auditioned singers for a prestigious gig: To sing at the superintendent’s father’s funeral.

I was a little fame hungry back then, and seeking approval (my parents divorced months earlier, it explains so much) so I volunteered to audition. I’m not lying, I sang the shit out of “Yahweh, I know you are near” or as the Hebrew kids know it, “YHWH I know you are near. ” I made the final cut and was pretty confident this meant I had a solid future in singing, but during puberty, instead of getting boobs and a period like a normal teenage girl (that came later guys, I swear) , my voice changed and like Ariel under the sea, my singing voice was gone.

I became obsessed with amazing singing voices. So when I heard Adele, Carrie Underwood, Lea Michele (yeah I said it) etc. I was mesmerized.

giphy

The latest chick to make my voice envy list is Ella Henderson, the British export who came in 6th place on the UK version of the X Factor. So…the GOOD X Factor.

Henderson made the rounds in Toronto this week promoting her new album and I’m hooked. Henderson is 19. NINE-F*CKING-TEEN! Do you know what I was doing at 19? I was finally growing boobs, that’s what I was doing. Perspective, people!

Henderson is amazing. She’s like the Adele I need to tide me over until Adele comes back with more songs that will make me cry in public. I’m obsessed with her single “Ghost.”

eec63b9600f3c53d50f39a9b35b780f1

Have you heard? It makes me feel soulful inside, which says a lot because people usually ask me if I even HAVE a soul.

Take a listen and tell me what you think.

What are you listening to these days? Who gives you voice envy?

One comment

Leave a Reply

