I forgot how much I loved this

Sometimes I forget the person I used to be. That can be taken a few different ways. Take it whichever way makes me sound the most profound, because really, all I’m talking about here is how much I used to love a certain band.

It’s true though. Every now and then I’ll come across CD’s, books, photos, items of clothing that I’ve held on to and have a moment where all of a sudden I think about how much I’ve changed. This concept seems obvious, of course I’ve changed. I’ve grown (not up, but I’ve grown). But like the ridiculous communications plans I’ve written, it’s not until I measure and evaluate my life that I realize how much has happened, how much I’ve given up (consciously or subconsciously) and how much I needed these touchstones of my former self.

Mumbo jumbo, hippie-dippy, feelings talk over.

I used to be OBSESSED with Jack’s Mannequin. If you’re like me and watched a shit ton of One Tree Hill, you know who I’m talking about.  Anyways, I came across a burned CD I made probably…oh… five or six years ago and listened on my way to work yesterday. It was all Jack’s Mannequin and I immediately felt this pang of nostalgia for my early twenties.


I went on a JM/Something Corporate/Andrew McMahon binge and have been feeling nostal-drunk ever since. I’m going to make a mental note to listen to more of my favourite bands of yesteryear, re-watch my favourite movies (Little Women, heyo Winona!) and reconnect to those little bits of joy.

What were some of your favourite songs/movies/books that remind you of your younger self?

I’m going to go put on a Volcom t-shirt, my vans and dickies and go kick it like I did when I was 21.

 

5 comments

      1. tell me about it. i heard through the grapevine that my 10 year reunion is in the process of being planned. isn’t facebook enough? at least there i don’t have to answer the dreaded, “so, what have you been up to?” every 20 seconds.

        Like

Leave a Reply

