Exam-a- rama: Don’t stress, babies. Keep cool.

If you stand near anyone in their late teens, early-twenties you can feel it – exam anxiety.

Right now, my Manpanion’s stressing hard about exams. His grades are great, he’s smart as a whip, but he’s spiraling into an endless abyss of caffeine. When he told me he wanted to go back to school, I was supportive. Who am I to rain on anyone’s parade? I didn’t anticipate the secondhand stress I’m feeling.

I know it’s my job to be supportive but I was never a cheerleader in high school. These things don’t come naturally to me! I get tongue tied and revert back to 90’s sitcom methods of encouragement:

*pat on the shoulder * Hey, don’t be sad. We’ve got Uncle Jesse and Joey here to help. It’s tough without your Mom, but you’ve got so many people that love you! DJ and Stephanie? They’re always going to be here for you. I love you. *music plays until commercial*

This makes Matt uncomfortable, but it’s the best I can do.

images

Exam time was the worst.

During my second year at uni I decided exam time was the perfect time to get into the series LOST. I stayed up all night watching the second season and then took the bus to my exam. I had been up for 36 hours at that point. I’m not even sure if I wrote the correct exam. Needless to say, I barely passed but I learned a valuable lesson:  I’m a Sawyer girl, not a Jack girl.

tumblr_inline_nakctvglvc1s75dz4

In all seriousness, I obviously couldn’t handle exam pressures that well. After I took my two year break from school, I was a medicated champ and could handle my anxiety a bit better. I would still get nervous, but at least I could focus, not wonder about font selection for textbooks and convince myself I could hear the digital clock ticking (those were dark times).

To all of you suffering from exam anxiety :

Hang in there, nuggets. It’s going to be OK. Don’t panic, relax, find a quiet space and focus on the task at hand. No matter what, you’re going to be fine. If you’re really panicking/not sleeping/having a hard time focusing, talk to a doctor. Your health ,including  your mental health, comes first. Prof’s can be surprisingly forgiving if you need help or  need to make special arrangements to write your exams.

i-got-this

 

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. I just wrote my last exam yesterday! And I recently decided to get into Greys Anatomy….Bad idea. I started watching it about a month ago, and I am on season 6 already. I make this mistake every year, and always get addicted to a show right before exams.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

