Friday Five! Pop culture edition

TGIF.

Seriously. TGIF.

This week has been a doozy, but there are big changes coming my way, so I’m excited, a little stressed and a little panicky, but I’mma keep it together.

Ok, let’s share our favourite things, shall we?

1. Nightcrawler

Last night Matt and I watched Nightcrawler starring Jake Gyllenhaal.  Have you seen this movie? It’s creepy, but I’ll just say it, Jake’s half-up half down wide eyed obsessive self is still doing it for me. I’d still sign up for life for it. The boy’s gorgeous and talented. Some of my friends had mixed reviews of the movie, but I loved it.

We all know a Lou Bloom. I know one. You probably know one. Someone who’s kind of creepy and out of touch with reality, a little too ambitious and anti-social. Creeptastic.

tumblr_n92w1m8hyE1s3y9slo2_500

I highly recommend this movie. Four out of Five Libby’s.

2. Katy Perry & the Grammy’s.

Katy Perry needs a Grammy. Give the girl a Grammy, please. It was just announced Prism has been nominated for Pop Album of the Year against some pretty stiff competition (Ed Sheeran, Ariana Grande, Coldplay, Miley and Sam Smith).

Nobody does pop music like Katy. In my opinion, Teenage Dream was the ultimate pop album, but out of everyone nominated, Katy is the only person who really encapsulates all things pop.

katy

This photo shoot for Cosmo was one of my faves of all time. Slay with that green hair, girl. Slay!

 

Noticeably absent? Lady Gaga.

Poor Gaga. You’ll get ’em next year. Hopefully. Maybe.

3. Madonna for Versace

I love when brands make poor decisions. That sounds mean, but I just love when anyone makes a bad decision. It brings us all together in a communal pool of regret and humility. But really…

What the heck is going on in this photo?

???????????????????????????????????????

I get it, Madonna is Madonna and blah blah blah. I’m sorry, but not everything Madonna does is flawless. Like that picture. I sent it to my two best girls and asked them what the actual hell was going on.

One said it was the new promo poster for the Walking Dead.

The other said it was for the new Hobbit film : Smeagol’s Demise.

Does it even matter what Versace does anymore? Really, it’s a very small demographic of people that can afford Versace products aside from the eye glasses we get at the optometrist’s office. Wouldn’t it be better for celebs to front campaigns for stores like H&M, Aldo or ASOS? Lines people can actually afford?

Whatever, Versace. Whatever, Madge.

4. Wendy Williams

I’m one wig away from becoming Wendy Williams. I think she might be my biological mother. My sister always says I was adopted from New Guinea…maybe Wendy spent some time in New Guinea in 1987?

Who knows.

Do you watch Wendy? I like that she throws shade and is honest about celebrities. She dislikes the Kardashians and loves Mariah (ridiculous) but she’s got opinions and she ain’t afraid to share them!

HBRevYf

I love it. At work, I spend a lot of time doing data entry, so I like having something to listen to. I listen to Howard Stern interviews and Wendy Williams Hot Topics.

5. Patti Stanger

I’m not highbrow. I just said I love Wendy Williams. I’m one bucket of KFC away from a double wide and a fluorescent pair of crocs.

It’ll come as no surprise that  I love Millionaire Matchmaker. She’s feisty, she loves plastic surgery, and she loves giving unsolicited advice.

Sound like someone you know? Me. Minus the plastic surgery part (three more years, y’all).

Listen to this advice she gives J-Lo. “Don’t lead with the cooch” #priceless .
http://embed.live.huffingtonpost.com/HPLEmbedPlayer/?segmentId=54661b6878c90ad8ca000503&autoPlay=false

(it’s long, but fun)

3 comments

Leave a Reply

