Weekend roundup (plus a pep talk from me to you)

Oh, Saturday!

Oh, Sunday!

You love me and leave me like a cheap hooker.

My weekend was jam-packed and today I’ve made yet ANOTHER vow to cut out the junk food, get on the treadmill and somehow have some much needed quiet time.

It all started with a lovely double date to Memphis Fire BBQ, a restaurant that made it on the Food Network show, You’ve Gotta Eat Here. Now, you should know I’m the pickiest eater in the entire world. I order the same thing whenever I’m out for dinner: Greek salad, with chicken, no olives.

tumblr_ma4yzvMhRD1qhwfbuo1_500

I gained three pounds from this one meal. Three. Pounds. All from ranch fries and jerk chicken. I spent the rest of the evening curled up in the fetal position willing my food baby to disappear.

Saturday:

The busiest of all days.

I celebrated my sister’s 29th birthday with dinner and birthday cake. I decided to get her a tote bag filled with books by funny ladies (Mindy Kaling, Amy Poehler and Lena Dunham) and almost kept the Lena book for myself. ALMOST. I was three chapters in when I finally had to wrap the gift.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-30466-1379453473-16

After the cake was cut I went to hang out with some of my girlfriends for a good ol’ fashioned girls night in. The wine was overflowing when I walked through the door. Taylor Swift was playing. There was a dance party that may or may not have caused me to throw up from Swift-ing so hard. I kept going, like a champion, and woke up the next morning with French peasant teeth that still hurt (too much sugar).

Sunday:

Ovarium gathering.

An Ovarium consists of two or more sets of ovaries in the same room talking about life, love, food and sex.  It’s like Sex and the City, but everyone’s a Samantha.

tumblr_mkpnp5Gyr11s9e6kxo1_400

On Sunday,I went with my friends to visit Ovarium co-founder Meg and see the new home she bought with her boyfriend. It is CUTE. Capital C. It’s in my old neighbourhood and walking through the door I was hit with a wave of nostalgia.

We sat, gossiped, ate expensive cheese and cupcakes.  It was a wonderful afternoon that left me in need of a nap and elastic waist pants.

Ok so pep talk time.

I was just a little too hard on myself for straying from my normal healthy eating into junk food cheese covered territory. Even though I feel like my chin has gotten bigger and my saddle bags a little dimply-er, I know that one week of bad eating is not the end of the world.

If I want to get in shape, I can turn it around one day at time. Just like if I want to be successful in work and writing, I’ve got to put the time in and be patient.

I get so caught up in my own head and my own insecurities I sometimes forget to move forward and WORK hard. I write myself off as a failure because I don’t see instant results (in anything-  take your pick). I’m an instant gratification type person and that shit needs to go if I’m going to be healthy and happy.

Whatever your goals are, have faith that things will happen when they’re supposed to. Timing is everything.

quote-life-is-all-about_7282-1

Leave a Reply

