A Halloween costume retrospective (It’s just a bunch of Hocus Pocus)

It’s Devils Night! Keep your pumpkins in the backyard and your cats indoors; there’s mischief afoot!

tumblr_n690l0ayKX1r3579qo3_500

I love you, Max Dennison

I feel like a little kid again. I’m getting anxious and have so much running around to do for last minute costume preparation with Matt. We’re going to a Halloween/Birthday party for our friends Sarah and Josh and I’m pulling a Kate Middleton and recycling a costume. We’re going to the party as Dorothy and the Scarecrow from the Wizard of Oz. I’ve been Dorothy almost every years since I was thirteen years old. What can I say, I’m lazy and the costume still fits.

Shake it off. Haters gonna hate hate hate. 

Tomorrow I’m going to watch Hocus Pocus while I get ready for the party and count how many Elsa’s show up at my front door for candy. I won’t give out any Kit Kat’s unless they sing a verse from Let it Go. Sorry, kids. This ain’t no free ride. You’re going to have to sing for your supper. Literally.

I’ve been posting some throwback pics from Halloween’s of yesteryear on my Instagram account and thought I’d share some of my favourite costumes with all of you!

Let’s travel back in time to 1988

To any parent thinking of dressing their child up as a clown: Don’t do it. Let my mother’s actions be a cautionary tale to you all.

photo 1 (12)

Good luck sleeping tonight, Mommy Dearest

My Mom always asks why my sister and I pick on her (lovingly of course) and I think it all stems back to this moment. We look right pissed.

This next gem is from 1989 or as I like to call it, “The year we didn’t give a f*ck. ”

photo 3 (9)

Look at us, being all politically incorrect. My poor sister is walking around appropriating Indigenous Canadian culture and I’m literally wearing a pillow case on my head.  My costume is one pointed hood away from being incredibly offensive! And my Mom’s just smiling away like nothing in the world is wrong…

In 1992, I begged my Nani to make me  a She-Ra, Princess of Power costume. She-Ra was a hyper-sexed bad-ass and the twin sister of He-Man.

This is what I wanted to wear: 2243636-3239456630_c064f895b6

This is what I ended up wearing.

photo 3 (8)

I’m not sure why I refused to take off my mittens, but I feel they really added a certain something to my look. Of course, nobody knew who I was supposed to be, but I went to Halloween parties that year and I slayed everyone with my Sword of Protection.

Hocus Pocus minus 1 (1994)

The year after the movie Hocus Pocus was released, my sister and I decided to dress up as the Sanderson Sisters for Halloween. I lost the epic battle to be beautiful Sarah and instead, went out for Halloween as Mary; the vacuum cleaner riding, husky, barking witch with slight facial paralysis.

photo 2 (9)

Everyone thought we were Marilyn Monroe and Little Red Riding Hood,  but we didn’t care. We yelled for Thackery Binx and pretended we had never seen paved roads before. 90’s kids can relate, this movie is a Halloween and Hollywood classic.

What were some of your favourite Halloween costumes? What are you dressing up as this year?

Tell! Tell!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

