Marie Claire wants you to Dress Skinny

Ugh. The size wars. Size equality and body acceptance is a struggle not isolated to the media, but one I fight on a daily basis when I’m jumping up and down to get my pants to fit over my bum.  I’m constantly on the hunt for a reason to get angry about size inequality. Whenever I see advertisements that promote weight loss part of me is intrigued while the other half is recreating scenes from Tyler Perry’s Diary of a Mad Black Woman.

Here’s what I’m fired up about today, and why I think you should be fired up or like, warmed up, maybe even have a little hot flash over:

Marie Claire has published a book of fashion tips and tricks called Dress Skinny. Although “skinny” that unhealthily coveted image is in the title, the very next line of the title says, “Perfecting Your Style, Flattering Your Body, and Looking Fabulous.”

9780762454075

Hmm.. I Googled it. I had to. I couldn’t resist. Anything from a women’s magazine that should promote size equality using “Skinny” and an image of Heidi Klum in it’s title gets me a little riled up.

Here’s the book’s summary from the publisher’s website:

Size does not matter. By knowing how to dress your body—playing up assets, minimizing other parts—you will master the art of presenting your perfect self every day, for every occasion. With chapters devoted to hips, bust, waist, legs and arms, Marie Claire’s Dress Skinny curates a rich, inspiring selection of the right shapes, proportions, colors, and lingerie that are designed to flatter specific areas. Designers weighing in on the subject include: Michael Kors, Carolina Herrera, Tommy Hilfiger, Josie Natori and more. Dress Skinny is an unapologetic, innovative, and refreshing approach to reshaping your whole sense of style

 

Tsk tsk tsk.

Tricking me into anger  over promoting all things skinny and then telling me size doesn’t matter. If size doesn’t matter, why use such a buzz word?

shut your damn mouth

Why?

WHY?

Because you know I’ll buy into anything promising to help me look thinner? Because you know how I secretly wish I had a thigh gap even though I know it’s unhealthy and unnatural? Because even though I’m not a size 0, I should dress like I could be considered a slim size 4?  Because “Dress Your Best” didn’t test well with focus groups? Or because “Dress For Your Shape – Or Don’t Because You’re Beautiful” was too long to put on a cover?

I’m calling you out, MC. That’s shady and mixed messages. No matter which way you slice it, you’re playing on both insecurities and the need for woman to accept their bodies.

It’s up to you ladies. If you want to dress like a skinny size 8, 12 , 16 or 20 buy this tripe.

Judging you. Judging you hard.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-7078-1378780099-23

4 comments

  1. Just found your blog- lovin it so far! It’s a difficult catch 22.
    Marie Claire and magazines/publishers like them are forever trying to figure out the buzzwords and themes that will mean consumer sales for them.
    Unfortunately, weight management and the promise of looking like their favorite (skinny) celebs sells! So it’s a forever perpetuating cycle of terrible values. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

