Movies to watch when you need a good cry

I’m not even sad, there’s nothing particularly wrong in my life, but I feel a good cry coming on. I explained this feeling to my boyfriend and he immediately looked at the calendar and decided it was PMS. Typical male blaming all my emotions on what’s happening in my egg factory.

I feel the best way to bring about this imminent sob fest is to watch sad movies and let Hollywood do it’s job.

Here are my picks for the best tearjerkers!

In no particular order….

Steel Magnolias (1989)

Spoiler alert – this movie is f*cking sad. Like, cling to your pillow- ugly cry burning your throat-sad. Every single time I watch this movie and Sally Fields has her epic freak out at her daughter’s funeral, I bawl my eyes out. The all female cast is probably the best in cinema history. THAT’S RIGHT I SAID IT. Dolly? Good. Sally? Good. Julia? Good. Shirley? EVEN BETTER.

Terms of Endearment (1983)

Shirley friggen McLaine makin’ me cry. This movie kills me. Anything mother/daughter tugs on the heartstrings. If you haven’t seen the movie it’s about a mother and daughter who don’t always get along but are pulled together when Debra Winger’s character becomes terminally ill.


Homeward Bound (1993)

If you don’t cry at this movie, you have absolutely no soul. The music, the pups, the emotion, that little kid’s stupid bowl cut and adorable speech impediment. The morbid, messed up side of me knows that all of these animals are probably gone now, which makes me cry even more when I think about it because look how happy they were! Just think how hot that older kid must have turned out though, right? Does that cheer you up at all? Actually I Googled. It didn’t turn out well for him either.


The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

Judge me all you want,  I don’t even care. These damn kids made me cry so hard in public that I had mascara all over my face. It was like a Sicilian funeral in the movie theater that day, sobbing women everywhere.  Shailene Woodley is probably the best movie crier since Claire Danes quivering chin!

This is the last movie on my tearjerker list because I’m getting too emotional watching these clips. UGH my heart!  The next one is long – like, 10 minutes of pirated movie long. But mission accomplished… I’m now crying.

I’m sorry if I ruined your day.

Let’s cry it out together.

53a0b0ead6ead_-_tumblr_md02ikj2fq1qicr06o7_250

Leave a Reply

