Dumb Shit You Say When You’re 20

Oh, Meghan Trainor. So talented and yet so very young. Very, very, very young.

Trainor burst onto the scene with her debut single, “All About That Bass” a body love anthem that’s also incredibly catchy.

A young woman with a positive message? Huzzah!

My celebration was short lived because Trainor recently told Billboard magazine, “I don’t consider myself a feminist, but I’m down for my first opportunity to say something to the world to be so meaningful”

Britney-confused_zps9eff516a

Er… Ok.

I get it. Trainor’s young and new to the world of interviews and talk shows. I won’t hold this against her. I said a lot of dumb shit when I was twenty-years old. Trainor’s remarks are indicative of a greater problem: the lack of education for women and men of gender inequality and women’s issues.

Why are women especially young women, fearful of the feminist label? Is it really due to the stereotypical and antiquated idea of a feminist being an angry, man-hating woman who doesn’t shave her armpits?

Let’s review:

Feminism (noun) the advocacy of women’s rights on the grounds of political, social, and economic equality to men.

It’s that simple.

I’m a feminist.

Are you?

4 comments

Leave a Reply

