Weekend Roundup

Some of my favourite blogs (my mommy blogs. don’t judge me!) do weekend roundups.  I’ve always thought they were a neat way to connect with readers and other bloggers, so allow me if you will, to share my weekend with you!

Let’s get it rolling…

Friday

Bless me Oprah, for I have sinned. It has been exactly 3 days since I last shopped online. I can’t help it. I’m weak! With the cooler weather I’ve all of a sudden realized that I need an entirely new wardrobe. Despite having to use our guest room closet because I’ve run out of room, I’m addicted to online shopping. I went to the mall to pick up my order (I ain’t paying $8.00 for shipping) only to realize my beloved Zara still had summer items on sale.

So guess what y’all? I’m super excited because NEXT summer I’ll have new rompers and maxi dresses to wear. All I have to do is wait 200 or so days! I’ve included a picture of one of the items I bought. I enjoy it. It’s Mrs. Roper chic. If you don’t catch that reference you really need to brush up on your 70’s sitcoms.

download

It was my boyfriend Matt’s first week of school. I’m so proud of him for deciding to go back to school and pursue his dream of becoming a paramedic! The next three years will be intense for him but I’m really excited for him. So, how did we celebrate?

By Matt cooking ME dinner. *evil cackle*

photo (22)

 

Menu: Sweet chili chicken, roasted potatoes and vegetables. Oh, and ketchup. Because I’m unrefined and straight have escaped the trailer park.

Let me explain to you what romance is like for us now: Matt spent all day at school, made me a delicious dinner, let me watch JFK documentaries and I Found the Gown. In return, I complained about cramps and played and sang several Celine Dion songs for him. Then we fell asleep.

Jealous?

Saturday

After threatening to chop of all my hair, I spent my Saturday in the hair salon. No, I’m not insane. I didn’t cut off my hair cape. Instead I dyed it really, really, really, really dark. Like Halloween dark. I would take selfies, but I’m feeling super gross today (re: cramps, which apparently affect your face) so let’s pretend I look like this.

showbiz-kim-kardashian-gq-men-of-the-year-awards

 

I spent Saturday night hanging with my faux-cousin Katie talking trash and discussing life. It was a great girls night in. Katie and I have a good Kathy Lee and Hoda thing going on. We capped off the night eating banana cake. It was bliss!

Sunday

I met up with one of my good friends, Luke, for brunch. I love, love, love brunch. I’m always on the hunt for great new breakfast spots where the elderly eat. They know the best places. If I walk in a diner door and there are no old folks, I’m out. I need Betty and Carl talking shit about kids these days while they slurp coffee. I need waitresses calling me “Hon.”

After brunch I did what the lord intended us to do on Sundays: nap. Then I went to visit my grandparents for dinner. I felt like the Queen of the retirement building, everyone was saying hello and waving. I made a mental note to go there whenever I feel bad about myself. People are so damn friendly. Plus I have the most hair and my original teeth. It’s like being Beyoncé.

And then I did it…

I actually went for a run. Ok – a walk/run. Mostly a walk. I think I ran for a total of 10 minutes. over a span of 30. I was sweating so much I looked like I had just taken the ALS ice bucket challenge. This morning I woke up with some aches and pains in my legs but I’m feeling good and spry. Definitely going to go for another run tonight.

 

That was my weekend! Tell me about yours!

 

Leave a Reply

